Oklahoma lawmakers have approved new legislation that will allow home delivery of medical marijuana to authorized patients who live within 10 miles of the provisioning centers.
Other provisions included in the bill increase privacy protections for not only patients, but also caregivers registered in the program. Parental rights for qualified patients also are included.
House Bill 3228 awaits action from Republican Gov. Kevin Stitt.
Other changes include amending the criminal penalties for anyone who gets caught with up to 42.25 grams of marijuana, who does not have a state-issued medical marijuana card, from a maximum penalty of $1000 and up to one year in jail, to a fine of $400 and no jail time.
Full text of the enrolled legislation is available online.
More than 280,000 people in Oklahoma are registered in the state’s medical cannabis access program. No state has a higher number of patients per capita, although Michigan has one of the largest number of medical marijuana patients with more than 300,000, according to recent statistics.